What I learned from skydiving

23 Feb

If you ever wanted to go skydiving, do it. If it terrifies you, you must do it. It’s one of the best experiences I’ve ever had in my life.

You sign your life away, watch a video from 1980, put on your cover alls, learn how to land and up you go. Next thing you know you’re strapped to a flying Elvi being pushed out the door. Not even a chance to back out our kneel down gracefully. Out you go!

One thing I wish I would have known before taking the leap (getting the push), for the first few seconds you can’t breathe. It feels like minutes but I’m sure it wasn’t. All that air rushing in your face takes some getting used to. But once you get accustomed to it, you start to smile and realize; this is awesome! The free fall is even better. It’s the quietest most peaceful view you could ask for. The World is literally out of reach.

After a few minutes of free fall, and gliding left and right you get to land. Our landing was a graceful run into a sit. I guess that’s how you roll with a flying Elvi.

Then if you purchase the video you get to watch it all over again seeing the expressions on your face. And the fact that you almost lost our goggles. Fun times.

If you want to know what I mean about those first few seconds, hold a hair dryer on high pointed at your face. You don’t get all those other fun benefits of the view and the floating down. You just get to know what the breathing is like when you take the leap.

Now you know what I learned about skydiving for the first time. I highly recommend it for everyone, regardless if you’re scared or not. It’s one of the best feelings I’ve ever felt in my life. And the person I loved most in this world was there to see it, even though she was scared to death of what could go wrong. She was there to support me and one of my dreams.

Follow your dreams, you won’t regret it.

Skydiving in Vegas

2 Responses to “What I learned from skydiving”

  1. Caelan Huntress March 7, 2014 at 7:00 pm #

    I never knew that you couldn’t breathe for the first few seconds! Right when the terror hits you, that’s inconvenient.

    • Roux March 7, 2014 at 7:12 pm #

      Totally inconvenient! But well worth it for the experience.

Leave a Reply

